Laureus Awards 2020: Messi, Hamilton named Sportsmen of the year

Lionel Messi and Lewis Hamilton have been jointly awarded Sportsman of the Year at the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards.

Berlin’s Verti Music Hall, hosted the 20th edition of the most prestigious sporting awards which celebrates the most outstanding achievements of sportpersons and teams across various disciplines in the past year.

This year’s men’s top honours is jointly shared between reigning Formula 1 champion and current The Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year.

Mercedes driver, Hamilton, in 2019 claimed his sixth world title at the pinnacle of motorsport, one behind the great Michael Schumacher.

Messi in addition to his FIFA award, won a record sixth Ballon d’Or. The two men, beat competition from the likes of Rafael Nadal, Eluid Kipchoge, Marc Marquez and Tiger Woods.

For the third consecutive year, Simone Biles has been named the Laureus Sportswoman of the Year. The world’s most decorated gymnast beat fellow Americans Allyson Felix, Megan Rapinoe and Mikaela Shiffrin, World 100m champion Shelly-Ann Fraser Pryce and tennis star Naomi Osaka.

Colombian cyclist Egan Bernal took home the Breakthrough of the Year Award following his triumph at the Tour de France while South Africa’s Men’s Rugby Team were crowned Team of the Year.


Sportsman of the Year – Lewis Hamilton & Lionel Messi.

Sportswoman of the Year – Simone Biles

Action Sportsperson of the Year – Chloe Kim

Sportsperson of the Year with Disability – Oksana Masters

Comeback of the Year – Sophia Flörsch

Breakthrough of the Year – Egan Bernal

Team of the Year – South Africa Men’s Rugby Team

Exceptional Achievement Award – Spanish Basketball Federation

Lifetime Achievement Award – Dirk Nowitzki

Laureus Sporting Moment Award (2000 – 2020) – Sachin Tendulkar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *